Skip to content

Old Band Photography

August 12, 2010

I dug up a few photos from shows I’ve been to in the past that were uploaded on a long-forgotten Photobucket and DeviantArt account. I’m happy to have curiously explored these old accounts, because my external hard drive, which held a lot old photos and music, died during spring break. Now I’m hoping to find more gems of music and photos hidden in older desktop comupters, before I go back to school.

Here  are a few:

Of Montreal- Kevin Barnes in a wedding dress

Of Montreal- Dot

Margot and the Nuclear So and So's

The Black Kids- in the Early Days

New Berlin- Jacksonville band

Astronautilis- Florida Rapper

Whispertown 200

There are more in this old Deviantart account but am too lazy to post into the blog:

DeviantArt- Band Gallery link

Looking at these photos made me realize I was much more adventurous when I was in high school, going to any show I could, hitting up bars and clubs since the 8th grade to see acts. I feel as if Jacksonville (Actionville, ha ha) had more bands touring through it then instead of now, and I was a lot more willing to spend the money to go (from $5 to $25 dollars a ticket). Looking back, I’m surprised that I didn’t document a few shows (Tegan and Sara, Airplane Factory, Rodeo Drive), but even more in awe at the freedom my parents gave me to go to places like Jackrabbits when I was 15 and 16.

At any rate, I should be getting photos from my Canon film SLR today, which will include a few from the Rickolus show a few weeks ago. I’ll post again with a review of the show.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

